exercise what?

So….

This post has been on my mind for quite some time.  And I’m afraid I’m going to insult some people, but I’ve got to get this off my chest.

Lately all I read in people’s blog is how they have to lose weight.  Blah blah I’m fat.  Blah blah I want to lose weight.  (not quite so many blah blah’s in there tho).  In fact, one of the blogs I read complained about weighing 122 pounds.  Let me say that for you again.  She complained about weighing 122 pounds.  And the comments were filled with people saying how, at their heaviest they weighed 120 and there’s no way they’ll ever go back to weighing that much.  Let me go throw up in my shoes.  I’m sorry but no normal, beautiful person who is the same height as me should complain about weighing 122 pounds.  It’s not healthy.  When will people stop looking at the scale and at the sizes of their clothing and instead look in the mirror?  Guys don’t fantasize about hip bones, they fantasize about full breasts and ass.  They don’t want a girl who will fall over when the wind blows, they want someone who can keep up with them, who can hike with them, run with them, play football and wrestle with them.  I personally would be super sad to see my curves go.  I love my curves.  I think curvy is beautiful.  Notice I said curvy, not 100 lbs over weight.  I understand that some of you out there are just naturally sticks and no matter how much you eat, you are just a stick.  I am fine with that.  What I am not fine with, is women who go to great lengths to be sticks.  You need to embrace your body.  There’s no problem with toning, but this person said they used to weigh 98 pounds!  You cannot lose 22lbs by toning.  As I say all this, I am trying to lose 5 lbs before I go see Mim (hi Mim 🙂 ) at the end of this month.  But I currently weigh 140.  5 lbs isn’t going to take me into unhealthy land and I’m not doing it in an unhealthy manner.  I’m *gasp* exercising!  and I’m doing it because *gasp* I want to get healthier.  If I’m healthy, I don’t care what the scale says.  But I can tell that a lot of my weight is no longer muscle, it’s fat.  And I’m trying to eat less fatty foods and less sweets.  But that doesn’t mean that I’m going to beat myself up when I slip up.  It doesn’t mean that I’m starving myself.  I’ve taken a look at my caloric consumption and I’ve cut some calories out.  I still eat plenty.

I get so sick and tired of society making us think that stick thin is the way to be.  It’s not.  Healthy and beautiful are the weight to be.  Not some number on a scale.  Or some pant size.  It takes everything I have to not leave messages on people’s posts when they are talking about ridiculous weight loss.  I just want to shake them.  That’s how eating disorders start.  That’s when people fast so much that they can no longer do the things that they want to do, like walking their dog or going to the mall, because they get too winded because they aren’t consuming enough calories.  If you’re eating healthy and you’re exercising in a healthy amount and you’re still gaining weight, then go to your dr.  Don’t go to extreme unhealthy methods to lose the weight.  And every now and then, tell yourself you’re beautiful.  Even if you don’t think you are.  Psychological research says that the more you tell yourself or someone else something, the more you believe it.  Like telling your SO that you love them every day.  When you think you’re beautiful, you have all the confidance in the world and others will think you’re beautiful too.

End rant.

*steps down off her soapbox*

10 thoughts on “exercise what?

  1. Oh, I hear ya. Though I, too, am trying to lose weight (bathing suit season, brothers wedding…) But my goal? 10 lbs. And, like you, I am doing it through diet (just eating a bit less, a bit healthier) and exercise. So far I have lost 1 lb per week (5 lbs now total!) and I know it’s been done in a healthy way, and likely to stay off. And I’m not trying to become a stick thin model… Just a bit healthier

  2. I try to embrace my weight as much as I can. But I know that health wise I do need to lose like 30-40 pounds. Well actually according to Wii Fit last night…26.5-36.5 pounds! Woot!

  3. For the most part, I embrace my weight, or rather I’m a little disallusioned by it. The person I see in my head isn’t the person I see in the mirror. Actually, I don’t really have a good look at the person in the mirror either unless I’m clothes shopping – a cruel reminder of how disallusioned I really am.

    I’m always shocked at how thin people now believe they need to be. I’ll take my curves and ability to be physical over being skeletal think and sick-looking any day!

    I just wish the media would quit influencing people to think that’s not what they want.

  4. This post is great. I read the blog that you’re referring to and I, too, was a bit taken aback. I want to look good, but like you said, my boyfriend doesn’t want to be stabbed by my hipbones or get asked if his girlfriend actual eats. I don’t want to be stick thin either. I’m been blessed with a high metabolism and am thin but not SKINNY. You’re going about getting healthy the right way – good for you.

  5. I hear ya! More and more, I have been successful at focusing on fitness and not appearance. When I’m fit, I definitely AM thinner, but I’m also healthier, happier and have more energy. I try to focus on those things and let the appearance part just be a nice bonus!

  6. AMEN to this! Thank you for finally saying it! I’ve been on a kick lately where I know I need to workout more (simply because I don’t workout. At all. Literally). But I don’t go near the scale or care about much else. I’m enjoying finally having an ass! (I had none in high school….)

  7. Hallelujah! I agree with you totally, as long as you feel healthy – who cares what the scale says. I have so many girlfriends who are beautiful – who constantly beat themselves up over weight loss. It’s about time we accept who we are & stop following societies standards to tell us we have to look a certain way.

Leave a Reply

