Cleaning

So…I mentioned awhile ago that I finally, after nine months, cleaned out the spare room. Now let me admit that the empty boxes have still not made it to someone’s dumpster yet, but in my defense people keep saying they need them and then never take them. Anyway. Totally not the point.  While cleaning I found some of our photos.  I have been meaning to scan these particular photos for the past four years and 2 months. Whew! But Noah finally bought a scanner last month or so and…here you go!

This was the group shot on the stairs.

This is one of my favorites. If you try to look close, you might be able to see my train. It’s one of the main reasons I bought that dress and you can’t even see it in photos!

Maybe you can see the train in this one? This is my mom’s favorite.

And in this one, you can see the other reason I bought this dress. All the beautiful detailing on the bodice. This is one of my favorites from the day.

Of course I’ve got loads more, but these are just a few of my favorites and…since I’ll never get to blog about my upcoming wedding on here, I thought I’d do a brief post about our wedding four years ago.

Noah and I got married really young. I was only 20. He had graduated like four days prior and I still had another year. I honestly don’t know how we made it through that first year. We were young, dumb, and broke but we made it. Since we didn’t have much money and my parents couldn’t afford to pay for the wedding, we decided to fly to Las Vegas and get married. A family friend’s daughter had done it a few years earlier and we thought it sounded like a great idea. The more we looked into, the more we liked it. I think our whole wedding including airfare and hotel was well under $2,000. The average wedding costs $10,000. We got married at the MGM Grand hotel. They sent us a packet to choose our music, flowers, and all the pertinent details. It was so quick and easy and they are so efficient. But you don’t feel like it’s an assembly line wedding. Everyone was personable and really helpful. The whole ceremony took approximately 30 minutes. Then we were ushered next door for pictures which also took about 30 minutes. The next day before we flew out, they had our pictures and our video ready for us to take home to show at the reception. We invited our close family to come with us and I was surprised at the number of family members that came with us. There were 21 of us, you can see in that first picture. I’m so glad my dad and Noah’s dad poked their head in while we were doing our photos and asked the photographer for that picture. I think it’s great. My dad still walked me down the aisle. I got to wear my dress twice. We went somewhere we’d never been. Noah had never been on a plane before. And we got to come home and still share the day with our families. Noah’s parents paid for our reception and for that I am very grateful. They also paid for our honeymoon which we took to Disney World. Noah’s choice 100%. I don’t regret our wedding at all. I was really afraid I would regret not having the big church wedding, but I don’t. In fact, as our close friends were planning their wedding all I thought was Whew! I’m so glad we didn’t have to go through all of this!

Anyway…that was a brief recap of our wedding. I loved every minute of it, even if I don’t remember it. I think that’s my advice to brides to be. Slow down. Take lots of pictures. That day will go by so fast and you won’t remember 90% of it. That’s why pictures are important. Enjoy it. It’s one of the most important days of your life.

6 thoughts on “Cleaning

Leave a Reply

