And another week ends…

First of all, thank you for all your kind words and support. Sometimes you just need to know you’re not alone in what you’re feeling. So thanks.

Second, I do have have an excuse for not writing this week. On Sunday we went for a bike ride with my cousin and I somehow managed to catch my front tire on the edge of the asphalt just enough to send me and my bike flying. I fell really hard. I smacked my chin on the asphalt, then my head. Thank you helmet. I also managed to land on something large enough to cut a gash in my hip and then leave a fun bruise imprint around it, banged both my knees on the ground, and trap my wrist/hand under my bike as my handlebars turned all the way around. Noah just barely manged to avoid running me over which would have definitely been awesome. But we still had 27 miles to go before we were back at the car so…I got up, wiped myself off and got back on the bike. After a couple of miles I realized I couldn’t put any weight on my right hand. Turns out I strained, possibly moved the tendons from my pinky to my wrist off the bone, and maybe have a hairline fracture. They couldn’t really tell in the xrays and they said there wasn’t much of anything they could for a fracture, so…wear this brace for a week and see how you feel. Awesome. I found all that out on Monday. But to add insult to injury on Sunday, when we loaded the bikes up on my car, Noah must not have gotten the strap tight enough and my bike flew off the back of my car at 55 mph while getting on the on ramp to 270. If I hadn’t been so worried about my bike, I would have laughed at Noah trying to dodge traffic to get my bike off the road. Awesome. Luckily, there’s only $25 worth of damage to my bike and I’m picking it up today. Needless to say, we had a busy weekend.

This week I attended a conference with my new principal. When I first met him I was sure I wouldn’t like him, but the more I talk to him and the more time I spend around him, I think he’s going to be OK. I think he’s going to *gasp* actually make me to my job (I know!), and I”m sure I’ll bitch a bit about him as the school year wears on. Solely because it’s going to be a lot different than my previous principal. But I think he’ll be fair and seriously? One of the things I recognized about myself from last year was that I was just trying to keep my head above water. All the changes and the kids acting so crazy, I didn’t teach the way I know I can. So I think it’ll be good to have someone push me to do my best.

Oh and…I cut like 6 inches off my hair last Friday! So…here’s today’s styling. It’s curly today and I really like the laid-back feel of the curly. I still miss my long hair and have no intention of keeping it short. However I had such a bad cut right before the end of the school year that the only way to remedy it was to cut that hair out. It also looks really cute in headbands. I’ll try to post a picture of one of those days later.

Curly…

Straight…

(I was going to post a picture of my bruise but…I couldn’t talk the picture without you seeing a. my undies and b. my cottage cheese thighs so…I’m going to pass. You’ll just have to trust me that even after almost a week it’s still very large and very purple.)

OH! This weekend we’re headed to my hometown county fair. Noah LOVES fairs and fair food. I can’t wait.

Also, we hung out with some people we haven’t hung out with in forever. Because they got pregnant, had a baby, and went crazy. Long back story. Needless to say, some really nasty horrible things were said that can never be taken back. And now I have to decide if I can forgive them and trust them again. It seems they are genuinely trying. So we’ll see. It was a really hard mtg for me. Which is also part of why I didn’t post (we say them last Thursday). It’s tough, but I think I’m finally healing from the incident.

Annnnnnd last thing, I promise, but Noah just downloaded the new Coldplay album and I LOVE IT!!!! It is seriously one of their best albums. WAY better than their last one, XYZ. Chris Martin has such an amazing voice.

Ok, that’s it. Have a great weekend everyone!!

7 thoughts on “And another week ends…

  1. Oh my gosh, I’m glad you’re OK but honestly what a day!

    Love the hair cut! Super cute.

    We’re going to my hometown fair next weekend and I can’t wait. Enjoy it!

  2. Wow I’m thinking it just wasn’t a good day for you and your bike 🙂

    And I’m glad you’re giving that couple a shot. Who knows what will happen but I hope it surprises you and is good 🙂

  3. I’m glad to find someone else who thought the last Coldplay album was “rubbish” (adjective courtesy of Elijah Wood — I will never forget that for some reason). Everybody is always like OMG COLDPLAY EVERYTHING YOU CREATE IS PURE MUSICAL HEAVEN. Bah.

    Sorry about your injuries 😦 That really sucks. Get well soon!

  4. Okay I am a horrible friend but I couldn’t help but laugh at the image of Noah dodging traffic for your bike! And my dear -I think someone somewhere might be sending you a message that bike riding is off limits! Between the huge spill to your bike flying off a car at a million miles an hour I think the universe is sending you a message!

    PS – I’m glad the meeting went well 🙂

Leave a Reply

