Made you think…

I recently read this on a great blog:

IF YOU WEREN’T SETTLING, WHAT WOULD YOU FILL UP YOUR FRUIT TREE OF EXPERIENCE’S WITH????

WHAT DO YOU WANT……?

It definitely made me think.

Because I immediately went to children.  I want kids.  But then I thought, I don’t really want kids right now anyway…I’m just not ready.  Then I thought about the farm and lifestyle that I want, and then I realized that I’m getting there.

So here’s my list:

a good man (check)
a good marriage (check)
children, preferably 2
2 dogs and 2 cats (halfway there)
a farm
and a funeral like my grandma’s.  She had a full house at her viewing and funeral.  Everyone there talked about how
much she influenced their lives and helped them in some way.

So the conclusion that I came to is that I’m not settling at all.  I’m waiting.  I’m waiting for what I want from the man that I want.  I love my husband and I know that eventually he will get to the place where I am.  So I’m waiting.  Because I don’t want the end result, if I don’t take the journey with the right person.  It’s just taking him longer than I would like…

What do you want out of life?  Are you settling?

3 thoughts on “Made you think…

  1. I want to be tall, blonde, slightly on the anorexic side, have a closest full of shoes and …..

    Ok, the shoes part I would definitely over bring to my real list.

    A ‘good’ friend told me once that settling is really an acceptable compromise. I didn’t know what he meant at that time (I did, but I didn’t want to ‘accept’ it. I understand what it means as well as why people ‘accept’ and then ‘compromise’, but I struggle to reconcile this with life. (even though I’ve done the same thing from time to time).

    ~Stella

  2. I really like this line: “Because I don’t want the end result, if I don’t take the journey with the right person.”

    Perhaps I’m settling when it comes to my career but as I age I realize that my job just isn’t that important to me. I’d rather fill up my life in other ways.

  3. I want a lot of what you do, and am at a similar point with my husband – waiting. Right now he goes between “no kids, no way” to “yeah, sure, just not now” – which, since now really isn’t the best time, fine. And I’m pretty sure he will get to that point when it is (I hope) … So yeah. Waiting. But not settling.

Leave a Reply

