Who’s idea was that?

I teach in the largest district in Ohio.

I also teach in the only district in my county to have school today. Every school district in the county that I live in was closed today except mine. Seriously? The superintendent went on the news this morning and stated that since we are in academic emergency, our students need every day they can get. Ok but….half of our school was absent today. Literally half of our school. We had buses that arrived over an hour late to school. Tell me how that is effective? My car spun out and fishtailed crazily on the major road just trying to leave my house. Then I was almost in an accident about 30 feet from my school because I couldn’t stop.

I’m irritated that we were the only district in the entire county open today. Seriously. I set out sub plans before I left because if we DO have school tomorrow, I won’t be there. I’m not going to get into an accident just to show up and teach half of a class.

So far we have about 4″ to 5″ and we’re expected to get double what we’ve already got. The snow is not supposed to stop until 6pm tomorrow.

Noah and I are going to try to make it to the gym tonight, provided it’s not closed. We’re awesome like that 🙂

What’s the weather like in your area?

2 thoughts on “Who’s idea was that?

Leave a Reply

