Goals update

So my two running goals for this summer season were:

1. Run a 5k in approx 30 minutes which is a 10:00/mile pace. Tonight I ran a 3 mile loop in exactly 30 minutes. So goal #1 accomplished.

2. Complete the Columbus 10k (6.2 miles) without walking. Tuesday night I ran 7 miles in approximately a 10:30/mile pace. Goal #2 accomplished.

New goals? Not sure yet! Maybe new goal will be to run, no walking, the half marathon with Noah in October. I know that I said I had no desire to ever run that far, but….my mileage just keeps increasing so I need to keep challenging myself.

Question is, how did I manage to GAIN 2 pounds when I ran 13 miles last week? That’s 1430 calories just burned by running. That’s almost 1/2 a pound by itself and I KNOW I didn’t eat that poorly….time for a new scale?

2 thoughts on “Goals update

  1. I know, totally messed up, right?! That’s what I’ve been up against and am a bit depressed by it all, quite frankly.

    I have given up on the running, though. Your time is awesome, by the way!! I can do a 5K in 11min-mile but can’t seem to get above that. Once I get closer to 13 miles, though, my time decreases; of course, it’s more about endurance then speed at this point.

    Anyhow, AWESOME!! YOU GO GIRL!!

  2. Awesome! So impressive.

    Maybe your body is just holding onto extra fluid? Or who the hell knows…bodies are so confusing.

Leave a Reply

