Frankie says Relax

I am so super competitive.  I even compete with myself.  I beat myself up over crap that doesn’t even matter.  *sigh*

Today Noah ran the 1/2 marathon and I ran the 5k.  I knew going into today that I wasn’t going to do best time ever because I was planning on running with someone.  I just wanted to stay around a 10 min/mile pace.  No biggie.  I finished at 10:15 pace and that’s pretty close and not too shabby considering it was raining and uphill most of the run.  But I’m still mad at myself.  I know that I could have done better.  I wish I hadn’t agreed to run with that friend because I ended up dropping her anyway when she stopped to walk.  I could have done better, been faster, and been happier.  Had I run a 9:05 which is a pace I am certainly capable of, I would have placed 15 in my age group out of 216.  As it is I finished 45th.  Which bothers me.  I need to get over this.  I need to just be happy that I ran and that I ran a decent time.  But I’m not.  Grrr.

Leave a Reply

