A picture is worth 1,000 words

unfortunately…I don’t have the pictures uploaded yet!

Sunday I did my first duathlon.  I ran 3.1 miles (5k) followed by a 12.4 bike ride and then another 3.1 miles.  In between each event, I headed back to the transition area to change shoes, grab a gel, etc.  My goal was to run each 5k with a 9:30 pace and then do the bike in 45 minutes.  I was also trying to keep my transition to about 1 minute.  That said, I’ve never done this before and hadn’t practiced transitions, I just looked at other people’s times to see what the average transition time was.

My actual times were 8:56 pace for the first 5k which is a personal best, 48 minutes for the bike, and then 9:16 pace for the second 5k.  My transition times were 1:51 and 1:36 each time.  So…there is room for improvement for the transition, I’ve already come up with some ideas.  But I’m really proud of my run times, the first time is a PR for a 5k for me and the second was under what I anticipated.  On the ride, there were two pretty large hills which I wasn’t expecting and a really strong headwind.  I’ve set some biking goals for the winter and hopefully will improve those times for next spring.  I placed 1st in my age group, 6th among the women overall and 20th overall not including the elite and masters runners.

I’m definitely really proud of my accomplishment.  If you had asked me a year ago if I thought I would be able to do this, I would have said not only would I not be able to but I had no interest in it.  But I had so much fun!  I can’t wait to do it again next year.

Leave a Reply

