Westerville Celebrity Ghost 5k

So…Friday I ran another 5k.  Actually raced it.  Drove up to Westerville with Noah and a co-worker and ran the first annual Celebrity Ghost 5k.  It was at 8:30pm and definitely chilly out.  My goal was to run an 8:30/mile pace.  Unfortunately I didn’t make my goal.  I ended up with 8:44 which is still my best pace so far this race season, but not what I wanted.  I could blame lots of things, but ultimately it comes down to me.  It comes down to the fact that I haven’t really ran much in the last couple of weeks and I didn’t eat properly during the day.  I knew I had a race and I still chose to eat pizza and candy at the Halloween parties at school.

I’m frustrated with myself.  I was doing so good running this summer.  I was even doing pretty good going into the half marathon.  Then I got sick right before the half and injured my ankle.  I had to take some time off and then came the excuses.  It’s so hard to get back on track when you take a couple weeks off.  It’s so hard to find the motivation.  Especially with things being stressful at work and home, all I want to do is curl up with a good book and watch TV.  I need motivation!  I need someone to force me to get off my ass!  And I need to get healthy.  I’ve been quasi sick for the past month or so.  Not sick enough to miss work, but sick enough that you don’t want to do anything and you’re exhausted.

New goal?  To get healthy.  Not sure how to do that, but I need to figure it out.  Another 5k on Nov. 7th, Nov. 20th, and a 5 miler Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving.  Then possibly another race in December and then training until Spring.  I can do it.  I can stick with it.

3 thoughts on “Westerville Celebrity Ghost 5k

  1. You can do it!

    But also, if you can’t, it’s OK to give yourself some time to heal. It sounds like your body might need some rest and relaxation.

  2. Yes you can so it!!

    I know how you feel about being alotted the excuse of not properly training but refusing ro actually claim it; that’s how I feel about my Half Marathin this past weekend but ultimately I know better!!

    My problem is my health but my weight: despite my best efforts all summer I haven’t lost a single pound since last year – it’s so frustrating!!

    And now I DO wanna eat some chocolate…
    (thankfully, there’s none in the house)

    Hope you get to feeling better.

Leave a Reply

