Racing and Painting

Saturday we got up early to run the Westerville Game Day 5k.  The proceeds went to support the MidOhio Food Bank and the Central HS Cross Country team.

The race was really well organized and a lot of run.  It was chilly, but not too bad and I was defintely over dressed.  Oops.  I didn’t do as well as I had hoped to.  Still haven’t checked the official results, but I’ve decided I’m going by my watch.  The start wasn’t chip timed, it was gun timed and I wasn’t very near the front.  Also, the walkers crowded toward the front so there were some issues passing all of them.  I wish race organizers would start the runners first and then the walkers.  That way we wouldn’t have to run around them.  Part of the problem at the start was some guy decided to pass some walkers so he swerved toward me.  He brushed my leg with his as he went past me and then he proceeded to crash.  He fell pretty hard and glared at me as he got up.  I felt bad, but I didn’t trip him on purpose.  I didn’t really even trip him, he ran into me and then he fell.  So that sucked.  Overall the race was good, the course was clear and easy to follow, I got in a little race with a guy right at the end so that helped me dig deep and go for it.  Still didn’t get the time I wanted but there’s always next time!

Then we came home and painted the kitchen.  It looks amazing.  I’m so grateful to have all the help we did.  There were four of us painting and we still didn’t finish until around 6:30.   It’s not that big of a room but it just took a long time.  Only two coats but…lots of trimming in.  And we painted the doors, windows, and trim so that took extra time.  We have some touching up to do today but it’s not horrible.  I’m so glad it’s done.  I’ll post pictures when all the tape is down and the room is put back together.

Working today but it’s dead.  Back to the grind tomorrow but luckily I’m off Wed, Thurs, and Friday.  The whole family is coming to our house for Thanksgiving dinner so we’ve got lots of cleaning to do.  It’ll be a busy next few days but hopefully I’ll find some time to relax too.

What are your plans for Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

