Turkey Trot 2010

This year Noah and I ran the Columbus Turkey Trot.  In years past, he’s run and I’ve stayed home because we were afraid to leave the turkey home alone.  The Turkey Trot takes place literally two miles from our house, so we figured the turkey would survive alone for an hour.  The top 1000 men and 1000 women finishers got to take home a pumpkin pie.  That was Noah’s goal, but I figured that I wouldn’t be able to get one.  No biggie.  When we woke up it was pouring down rain, but not too cold.  By the time we actually got to the race it had slowed to a light drizzle and by the time the run was over, it wasn’t raining at all.  Overall I had a good time.  The course was “hillier” than I would have liked, but that’s because I don’t like hills.  And I’m irritated because I didn’t manage to start my watch so I have no actual time.  The clock when I crossed the finish said 40.02 but I think it was slow.  It wasn’t actually a chip timed race, it was a gun start, and with the crowd at the start I walked for a few minutes before I was able to be through the start.  So…who knows.  And my only other complaint was at the finish.  I never found the water.  I found fruit and granola bars, but no water.  After talked to a few other friends who ran, it appears there wasn’t any water?  Not sure.  But!

 

I won a pie!!!  Noah got one too, which was to be expected.  But I got one too!!!  Yay me!

 

After the race we came home and finished making lunch.  It was delicious and our families were on their best behavior.  All in all it was a pretty good Thanksgiving!

3 thoughts on “Turkey Trot 2010

Leave a Reply

