NPR in the morning

*disclaimer: This is my blog, hence this is my opinion.  You are entitled to yours, I’m not saying that mine is right or that yours is wrong.  You don’t have to agree, but please be polite.  Thx.

I was listening to NPR this morning on my way to work.  Some mornings I can’t handle music that early and since my stomach was all kinds of crampy and I had a headache and my coffee hadn’t kicked in yet…I listened to NPR.  They were talking about the republican candidates for the next presidential election and the stances they have taken on different issues.

I don’t consider myself to be either a republican or a democrat.  I am registered independent.  I try really hard to listen to/read about the candidates positions and then vote for the one that most closely resembles my own.  I realize that most of their campaign promises are fluff and probably won’t come true but…this segment has  me a little concerned.

NPR said that all but 2 (I think) of the republican candidates have signed a pledge.  The pledge says that if they get elected, they promise to not place anyone in the positions that they get to place people (brain fart on what that should be called…) who is pro-choice regardless of whether or not that position would have any influence on that debate.  They also promise to cut funding from Planned Parenthood and any other government-funded agency that does abortions.  They promise to try to revoke Roe v. Wade.

Now.  You are entitled to your opinion.  And your life choices and background will definitely impact your opinion on this but…I’m pro choice.  It’s not a choice that I ever want to have to make and I consider myself EXTREMELY lucky to not have been in a position to have to make that choice.  I know that I could not go through with an abortion myself, but I also believe that women have the right to make that very personal choice.  I have two close friends that I know have had abortions.  I know how it has impacted their lives and how they currently feel about it.  As I have matured, my opinions have changed on the subject, but I still believe that it’s a choice a woman can make.  There are situations where it may be necessary for the women’s health.  There are situations where women have been raped and don’t want to have to look at the child of their rapist every day.  There are situations where the baby has a genetic disorder and may only live a few days in extreme pain.  There are situations where I can understand.

I’ve said all that to say that I’m concerned about this radical view-point.  I think they are villianizing (spell check says that’s not a word) Planned Parenthood.  Abortions only make up 3% of what Planned Parenthood does.  As a broke college student, I had to use Planned Parenthood to get my birth control.  They do a lot of counseling and support women.  Planned Parenthood does a lot of really positive things for women and the community.  If they cut funding from Planned Parenthood, where does it stop?  Will they cut funding from hospitals?  Will abortions go back to being back room affairs where the mother and the child end up dieing?  Will they say that birth control is a form of abortion and make birth control illegal?  If they revoke Roe v. Wade, where will it end?   I don’t want the government having this much control over my life.

I’m really not sure how to end this.  I realize that this is a lot of hype right now and may never come to fruition but I’m concerned that this pledge and whether or not the candidates sign it is being used as a barometer of how likely they are to get the republican nomination.  This isn’t where I want to see our country headed.

2 thoughts on “NPR in the morning

  1. I would say the answer to all those questions is probably yes, and I agree, I don’t want the government having that much control. Though they will argue that it is the government having *less* control, but I disagree.

Leave a Reply

